Nugget Shooter Forums

Gold Ore Identification help

Posted (edited)

Hi guys, this is my first time posting here, i recently moved onto a property in north central idaho about 30 miles north west of elk city… anyway the property has about a dozen or so underground workings ,adits, shafts, and drifts etc…The primary producing mines on the property were the dewey, the evergreen, and the st.patrick… theres about 6 or more also unnamed mines on the property, the usgs page on the dewey shows that the mines produced copper, gold, and silver . Although my understanding talking to people around here is that gold was the primary target, but maybe they just really wanted a copper mine to be a gold mine idk? Im fairly new to this field and i cannot for the life of me find any visible gold on the property, i find lots of ore bodies with pryite and chalcopyrite, and more recently i found a vein of copper oxide. i know pyrite and chaclopyrite can carry small amounts of trace gold but would these be the type of ores the old timers would have targeted? Ill post some pics of some rocks ive pulled out of the mines, im hoping someone can point me in the right direction to actually find some gold… note: im not doing this for any monetary purpose, i have a day job and i like it, i just enjoy getting out , learning about the geology and digging a little and i think it would be fun to produce a little gold button from ore… i have a basic understanding of most mining processes and have the capabilities of performing a fire assay here… 

2C58A2D9-5C12-465D-BCEE-9497D8770B8D.jpeg

6A2C4764-171B-4E05-95B4-81E7A3102131.jpeg

775913D1-62CB-4530-B704-E2BA42A931FF.jpeg

C18C40E6-A269-4465-A7BA-7E8D420027CC.jpeg

5EC0B8C8-167B-4ACD-A2BD-0F3054321A29.jpeg

82FBB340-37C5-4292-AC7D-EEC2E7724825.jpeg

82362148-2C38-4122-A98B-44F3E1F91A0F.jpeg

122FDC73-D830-4AC1-84F5-0BE16A4362CE.jpeg

3DD2687E-5992-48CC-9628-ECE0566D2FFC.jpeg

5366C68F-C4ED-4824-BC2F-FA38BD36F937.jpeg