Nugget Shooter Forums

How do you get the thick brown crust off of the outer part of your mineral?

I’m new to rock hounding and every rock I find just about has that outer layer of a brown crust which is I can’t seem to get it all off? I’ve washed them in warm water and dish washing soap, iron out, table grinder, lemon juice and a steel brush hooked to my drill and I still can’t get it all off. What’s the best way to completely get it off? I live in the upper Cumberland part of Tennessee and Ive got a bunch of blue chalcedony, jasper, chert, geodes, a ton of quartz and a few pieces of opal. I would like to make them shine. Thanks.

I also struggle with the same thing on agates. I use muratic acid and let it sit for a few days, just make sure it’s quartz/chalcedony in there cause other minerals can be destroyed by the acid but even that doesn’t really get it off that much. So I bought a high pressure sprayer to blast it off but with all that said the black crust is still very stubborn. I’m from Murfreesboro, but moved away will be heading up there to visit do you mind sharing some good locations to hunt?