Nugget Shooter Forums

Metorite or hematite or?

Hi, everyone is welcome to reply. 
i am not an expert, and i am looking to identify a possible meteorite. 
so, the information of this “stone” i have. 
Is magnetic, the weight 221,5 gramme. The water displacment is between 46 to 49 ml, so specific weight (gravity weight?) is between 4.6 to 4.9.

i tried etching with nitric acid, with no patterns. 

pictures bellow. 

https://postimg.cc/gallery/6Zf4mDh

thanks for any comments or information🙏🏻

28 minutes ago, Jack120 said:

Hi, everyone is welcome to reply. 
i am not an expert, and i am looking to identify a possible meteorite. 
so, the information of this “stone” i have. 
Is magnetic, the weight 221,5 gramme. The water displacment is between 46 to 49 ml, so specific weight (gravity weight?) is between 4.6 to 4.9.

i tried etching with nitric acid, with no patterns. 

pictures bellow. 

https://postimg.cc/gallery/6Zf4mDh

thanks for any comments or information🙏🏻

Wow, the outside of that is very dark compared the interior. I think you have found a specimen from planet Earth.  Have you tried a scratch test?

2 hours ago, Jack120 said:

Not yet, thanks for the tip, i will learn on google and do a test.

Your hunch that it’s something other than a meteorite is probably right. Mike’s thought that it ironstone is a possibility,  it does look like there are sand grains inside of it, which sedimentary ironstone is made up of. But even though the outside is dark the interior is light, which would indicate not much iron. If this was found out in the desert, one possibility is it’s a sandstone or aother common rock (cant tell from photo the details of interior ) covered with desert varnish. That would explain the thin dark coating on the outside and the lighter interior. If it was darker on the interior, a scratch test might’ve been helpful. You can look up scratch test magnetite and hematite. Here’s a good reference for it: