Nugget Shooter Forums

My first meteorite!!!!

Iam just glad after finding tons and tons of meteowrongs I have a meteorite on my hands and iam delighted with that! Here are some photos. I published it on a website and experts said that it looked like a weathered chondrite.

IMG-20220213-WA0000.jpg

IMG-20220213-WA0006.jpg

20220216_191230.jpg

IMG-20220213-WA0003.jpg

20220219_120123.jpg

• wow 1

Hi there. Just curious if you did a streak test as well. The first several pics look good until the last pic. That one picture has me suspect that it is not a meteorite. Pictures are hard to tell if one is or not a meteorite but from my experience, the last picture has me concerned that it might not be one. Also, grind or cut a window on one of the edges. It doesn’t de-value the stone but brings creditability to the rock. 
Im not an expert and don’t claim to be one but have found my fair share of them and a lot more meteorwrongs. 

Jayray

5 minutes ago, Jayray said:

Hi there. Just curious if you did a streak test as well. The first several pics look good until the last pic. That one picture has me suspect that it is not a meteorite. Pictures are hard to tell if one is or not a meteorite but from my experience, the last picture has me concerned that it might not be one. Also, grind or cut a window on one of the edges. It doesn’t de-value the stone but brings creditability to the rock. 
Im not an expert and don’t claim to be one but have found my fair share of them and a lot more meteorwrongs. 

Jayray

20220221_113938.jpg

25 minutes ago, Morlock said:

Where did you find it? I'm certainly not an expert but it looks good to me.

I just found it in my backyard! It was buried in ground and it's half surface was only visible from there. Could it be possible that my backyard is a strewn field? I know it may sound crazy.

The odds of finding a meteorite on ones backyard are very, very, very slim. 

It doesn't look like it would produce a streak but check it anyway.