Nugget Shooter Forums

i know nada about this...

Hello everyone,

I came across this in my father's collected items. I know absolutely nothing about rocks, minerals and fossils, but i'd love to know more about this piece. Perhaps it is very straightforward..

Unfortunately, I have little background information on it as well. It could have been acquired either by my great grandfather who journeyed from Sweden to North America and traveled across the continent, trading stuff, OR by my grandfather in Sweden, who, as a fine-watch repairman, would settle for payment in things he was offered and liked, should the customer come up "a little short" on payments. 

Here are some snapshots, and would greatly appreciate some thoughts! thank you. 

https://photos.app.goo.gl/MFbmQEJhxdfvbUkMA

E9362D75-16EF-447E-BC9C-CB3F1834BC87.jpeg

51EA299B-D8F6-4C51-AB9E-B73C7B396368.jpeg

8B62AA5D-4BA4-4CA5-9065-C7F4B16EB72B.jpeg

1181434B-EA76-41CD-B564-269155006EFA.jpeg

Edited by bassebus

Kind of resembles a compacted core sample of some type . . .

• Like 3

10 hours ago, bassebus said:

Hello everyone,

I came across this in my father's collected items. I know absolutely nothing about rocks, minerals and fossils, but i'd love to know more about this piece. Perhaps it is very straightforward..

Unfortunately, I have little background information on it as well. It could have been acquired either by my great grandfather who journeyed from Sweden to North America and traveled across the continent, trading stuff, OR by my grandfather in Sweden, who, as a fine-watch repairman, would settle for payment in things he was offered and liked, should the customer come up "a little short" on payments. 

Here are some snapshots, and would greatly appreciate some thoughts! thank you. 

https://photos.app.goo.gl/MFbmQEJhxdfvbUkMA

E9362D75-16EF-447E-BC9C-CB3F1834BC87.jpeg

51EA299B-D8F6-4C51-AB9E-B73C7B396368.jpeg

8B62AA5D-4BA4-4CA5-9065-C7F4B16EB72B.jpeg

1181434B-EA76-41CD-B564-269155006EFA.jpeg