Nugget Shooter Forums

this looks legit.  let's hear what the pros say.  I would think start with a magnet, then a streak test and finally a window.  Thanks for posting

I’m not a meteorite guy. Looks like a terrestrial piece of basalt or basanite to me. 

• Like 1

Hi there, 

Looks like a terrestrial rock to me as well, but I’m no expert and don’t claim to be one. I look at the color, and the “angles”. They form somewhat 90° points that something that big, looking as it does, would have alblated a lot more IMO. And the color looks off too, I like to say ‘poop’ brown. That’s almost black and consistent with basalt. Just my opinion, and as I always say, “Opinions are like belly buttons, everyone has one.”

Jayray

• Thanks 1

It's a cool rock. I would sure stick a magnet to it and do a window.

Even if it is not a meteorite it is a keeper.

How big is it? Is that a 4x6 post it is sitting on?

21 minutes ago, Bedrock Bob said:

It's a cool rock. I would sure stick a magnet to it and do a window.

Even if it is not a meteorite it is a keeper.

How big is it? Is that a 4x6 post it is sitting on?

It's about 6.5 inches it weighs 307 grams I could see metal , after scratching of suspected fusion  crust. Scratch test.  I want to cut it but I think I'll leave as is I'll get it tested.

• Like 2
Just now, Fireball said:

It's about 6.5 inches it weighs 307 grams I could see metal , after scratching of suspected fusion  crust. Scratch test.  I want to cut it but I think I'll leave as is I'll get it tested.

Is it magnetic?

Yes

1 hour ago, Jayray said:

Hi there,