Nugget Shooter Forums

I want to start searching in the UK for Roman gold coins and am confused as to what is the best beginner detector to use for Gold finds only. I've been looking at various options online but each has their own good and worse points. Tempted by the MINELAB Gold Monster 1000 as it seems to be so automatic in it's setup for a complete novice. I only want to buy once, so would prefer to spend a little more rather than having more than one device.

Any advice from more experienced people than me is very welcome.

Most Roman gold in the UK was buried for protection from assailants to be recovered after conflicts had finished - most stayed in the ground lost. Typically buried up to 12 inches below the surface but in some cases land movement could have buried the coins further by a few feet. All Roman gold has a purity somewhere between 99.9% and 81% (mostly higher up the scale).

Thanks for reading.

I won’t recommend a metal detector, I have a Minelab XTerra 705 for coin hunting, but I doubt that thing is even made anymore.

I am interested in what happens if you find anything.  Don’t you have to give this to the government under some sort of antiquities act?

I hope your successful, whether or not you get to keep your findings.

• Thanks 1

Thanks for the good wishes.