Nugget Shooter Forums

Before many years i found this rock. I did''t  give to much attention because it's looks like obsidian. 

I found it again before days somewhere in the house and i see it better this time. Is not obsidian at all.

I know many things for minerals but i am not an expert. This rocks it confused me.

1) Attractive a magnet, not to much but a lot.

2) Is very weight 1060 gm and very hard rock  7-8 density.  

3) In microscope and as you can see in the photo (macro) consists of microcrystals, green, yellow, red, etc.

4) The dimension is: 20 cm long, 11 cm wide,  2,7 cm thick.

5) It has an aerodynamic shape.

6) And most important ,  on the front and bottom side there is an obvious impact point from crush.

This impact have only two explanations. The rock is meteor or the impact happen after a volcanic explosion if this is possible.

If you need more information and i have please ask me.

The photos in order are:

1 and 2 the whole rock on both sides.
3 and 4 are from the cutting point I made and are as they are after cutting (unobstructed) in one piece.
5.6 and 7 are again from the cutting point and are partially polished and are the other part.
8 and 9 are from the piece with the supposed impact point and pulled with a macro.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.JPG

4.JPG

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.JPG

8.jpg

9.jpg

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Ivigo, As an Administrator here let me welcome you to the forum. Our members are not here to prove to you or anyone from their knowledge and experience that what is posted not a meteorite, t

Ivigo,                      Sympathy is extended to you because of your geographical dilemma, and your persistence is laudable, but your random selection and process of elimination method is an e