Nugget Shooter Forums
mariposagoldbag

New Vein Found - Arizona - What Do You Think About This?

Hey everyone!  I recently came across a quartz vein that has gold in it.  I’m new to Arizona and it’s geology so I thought I’d post some pictures and see what y’all thought.  I crushed about 14 pounds of quartz but only really got about 5 pounds down to powder and panned out.  The rest of the quartz is crushed down to about 1/8 pebbles and Still needs to be turned into powder.  Does this look like a rich vein?  Also, in the photos of quartz there is no gold showing, what you see is pyrite of some sorts.  

Thank you!

FEBEC7B3-6FEB-470B-9426-D0BA6A56EB3A.jpeg

F7BC050B-5F9D-4307-B79E-3C0401734B7F.jpeg

85B3258A-F775-406B-9A58-7CDEC3CA9256.jpeg

2501842E-F462-49E5-95A5-E21AAD187C14.jpeg

Edited by mariposagoldbag
  • Like 7

Could be worth investigating. If that pan is the entire result of the 5lbs it might be lean pickin's, but the values can come and go in a vein. I hate to say it, but you're going to have to crush a lot more rock to find out.

• Like 2

What Dave said. If you are panning color at all then it is worth more digging and crushing.

The ore looks pretty unoxidized. It has been my experience that really red oxidized spots with little quartz along a vein have the best yield. And down a few feet there are pinches and swells that cause the gold to concentrate. Sometimes it is supergene enrichment at water table and sometimes it just likes to collect in certain spots. 

Hard rock is kinda like placer in that respect. There is a little everywhere but only a lot in certain places. IMHO the best places are where the vein changes or is interrupted. And where the vein is full of red hematite the gold is always better than where the vein is hard and quartzy. 

That may apply only to my very limited experience in one area. The ore I have experience with is a dead ringer for the ore in the photo though. So maybe my observations apply to your vein as well.

• Like 5