Nugget Shooter Forums
Budgie b

I think I’ve found my first Meteorite?

Hi to all! Newbie here from NSW Australia, I’m a farmer Who does a lot of land leveling of fields plus construction of irrigation channels and reservoirs,  I’m always on the lookout for interesting and unusual things! And I found this rock about A year ago and from the research I’ve done on the web am now convinced it’s a Chondrite Meteorite? My friends all laugh at me when I mention it so I would love to have the last laugh one day so to speak! I showed this on a fossil forum that I’m in last week and a couple peeps did agree with me that it looks like a Meteorite so I just wanted to share with y’all and would appreciate everyone’s thoughts? 

It weighs 380grams is very hard! A normal  grinder hardly marked it when I ground the window so had to polish it with a diamond sharpening stone

7CB8012E-1590-49C8-9B3A-6C0B388EAA58.png

FCBB7D79-DC61-4CE9-A2CC-0185FCF7C6C8.png

38E7D1DD-E551-47E2-984A-43AF6A4914B7.png

DB933F76-F282-4214-B0ED-C48B5C9387A4.png

71FA486B-3EED-495B-83DD-9F828902015D.png

• Like 5
  • well done 3

Sure looks like one to me.... congrats Budgie..

Dave

• Like 3

Hot dog Budgie B, looks like you might just get that last laugh, looks pretty good to me. :thumbsupanim

• Like 2

Budgie,

That's a great looking rock! That is exactly what field meteorites look like. It looks like an H Chondrite. You will need to get it professionally confirmed by . I would suggest if confirmed that you submit it to the Meteoritical Bulletin. Please note that meteorites frequently shatter and land in strewnfields covering 2 to 10 mils or so. Keep looking for more, often smaller fragments.

Billpeters

• Like 2

Sure looks like one to me. Congrats. If I were you I'd go back there and see if there's any more. You may have to spend a lot of time looking.

• Like 1

7 hours ago, hardtimehermit said:

Hot dog Budgie B, looks like you might just get that last laugh, looks pretty good to me. :thumbsupanim