Nugget Shooter Forums
Sonja

This rock looks worse for the weather

Hi, I'm new to this.

Ok thought this guy had no hope when I found it, barely recognized it. I've been trying to clean it up by hand using soft to medium bristle brushes and have made some progress. I know it's pretty high as far as hardness goes, but it just looks so damaged.  Is there hope for it? Am I going about this incorrectly?

I appreciate any advice.

Thanks.

_190824_125710_245.jpg_190824_125703_020.jpg_190824_130037_505.jpg

Need some help with scale, any clues like a quarter in  future pics would help.  Is th j.g at a 5 gallon pail in the pic or?

From what I can gather, it looks l I'l ke first class yard rock for a border or wall.  Where did you find it,?

• Haha 1

That is an agate. And it looks pretty clean. The stuff on the outside is cortex. You are not going to wash it off. It will need to be abraded or tumbled off. 

Agates are impervious to most strong acids. The stuff you are trying to get off is insoluble. So a saw, a grinder or a tumbler is about your only option. If you are careful you can also knock it off with a copper billet. That will reveal some of the interior but will leave you with some shattered spots unless you really know what you are doing.

A wet tile saw works O.K. for cutting that stuff. If you want to get a good look at the inside that is what I would do. Otherwise you could tumble it in 60-90 grit slurry and grind most it off. It will take a month or so in the tumbler and the stone will be much smaller. But it can be done. You will never get all the pits and pockets out of it though.