Nugget Shooter Forums

Found here in Newfoundland Canada. I am a newbie at learning this stuff but I have been collecting rocks all my life. Is this pink quartz with mica?

20190722_053238.jpg

20190722_053256.jpg

20190722_053312.jpg

20190722_053324.jpg

20190722_053351.jpg

Bits of it are. This is what’s known as pegmatite. It’s a course grained granite. It’s composed of quartz, feldspar, and mica. It sometimes contains beryls and/or tourmalines.

Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, d_day said:

Bits of it are. This is what’s known as pegmatite. It’s a course grained granite. It’s composed of quartz, feldspar, and mica. It sometimes contains beryls and/or tourmalines.

i appreciate it.  I've been trying to locate pegmatite, but the books say the interlocking crystals are supposed to be an inch.  I've got pegmatite on my claim, at least according to some geological maps, but it looks just like that.  Perhaps its not the size of the crystal that's so important, but the way it interlocks.  Pegmatite is supposed to be good for gems.  This particular pegmatite juts above basalt lava flows.

Edited by chrisski

Can you tell if it extruded through the basalt, or the basalt flowed around it? I'm curious about that as I have huge lava flows in my area.

Jim

Posted (edited)

I don't know for sure if the lava flowed around or not.