Nugget Shooter Forums
Sign in to follow this  

Posted (edited)

Hello. I'm new here and this is a new hobby for me. I have a few questions on which detector to get. I actually bought a Garrett AT Gold last week but i returned it unopened because i felt i could do better. So this leads me to a few questions. I will be Gold nugget hunting here in AZ. I'm leaning towards getting the Monster but was wondering what everyone else uses or recommends.

Gold Monster 1000, $800

Equinox 800, $900 I really am starting to like this better, can i just set it at 20kHz and add a EQX 6 inch coil?, will it beat the monster?

Gold Bug II, $700

Fisher F75, $550

Garrett AT Gold, $640

Edited by garikfox

".... will it beat the monster?"

Now that right there is funny on so many levels!

I like the GB2 in good ground. Although I beat the monster regularly I have never used the GM1000 so I have no direct experience. I hear that it is a monster that is mighty tough to beat.

• Haha 1

Posted (edited)
13 minutes ago, garikfox said:

Hello. I'm new here and this is a new hobby for me. I have a few questions on which detector to get. I actually bought a Garrett AT Gold last week but i returned it unopened because i felt i could do better. So this leads me to a few questions. I will be Gold nugget hunting here in AZ. I'm leaning towards getting the Monster but was wondering what everyone else uses or recommends.

Gold Monster 1000, $800

Equinox 800, $899 I really am starting to like this better, can i just set it at 20kHz and add a EQX 6 inch coil?, will it beat the monster?

Gold Bug II, $699

Fisher F75, $548

Garrett AT Gold, $637

There's an almost new Gold Bug 2 in the classifieds.:inocent:

Edited by Morlock
  • Like 3

Thank you for the comments. I like the GB2 and know it probably is superior but it doesn't have a readout, and for someone new like me i.m not sure if i should use something so advanced. it is cheaper though...hmm decisions.