Nugget Shooter Forums
Britt

Hoping someone can solve a childhood mystery and identify a rock/mineral

Hi everyone. 

When I was little, my father had built a fish pond in our yard, which he decorated with various rocks and such. One stood out in particular. It was not like anything I had ever seen. It was very dull on the outside but if you looked up close, you could see the various tunnels and pockets with bits of areas that sparkled. 

I never found out where it came from. I'm in Chicago and I highly doubt it was found here. All I know is that I'm now in my 40's and I have brought this piece (which weighs 50-75 pounds) with every time I have moved. It still continues to fascinate me to this day. 

I've always had a love for rocks and minerals but sadly I'm just getting started on the hobby. Better late than never! Could someone tell me what this is called? Where it might have come from? I'd love to know something about this. Thank you so much in advance :)

Britt

20190407_233456.jpg

20190407_233453.jpg

20190407_233445.jpg

20190407_233440.jpg

• Like 1

Posted (edited)

Well, I'm not exactly sure what you call something in that shape. But it's composed of either quartz or calcite. Put a few drops of warm vinegar on the crystals and wait a few minutes. It won't damage it in any way. If you see slight fizzing, it's calcite. If you don't, it's quartz. My guess is quartz but I could be wrong.

The word "fumarole" just popped into my head.

Edited by Morlock
  • Like 2

Maybe an agatized coral?

• Like 1

As Morlock said, fumarole come to mind. I think it looks like a hydrothemal vent.

• Like 4

This is a cool specimen and a burning question for me as well.

I have seen quartz lattice like that in sandstone formations. There are spots in the badlands where big chunks have eroded from the sandstone hills and cliffs.