Nugget Shooter Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Trailertrash

How to determine what type of gold might be in a placer area?

Total Newb question, but Google has let me down on this one.

Any tips on how to research a placer area to learn whether fine gold or nuggets were being found? 

Thanks, Kyle

The only way to be certain is test for yourself. What other find can be an indication but its not really "talked" about. Also what others find isnt always the only thing there . Feet must hit the ground... happy hunting!!

• Thanks 1
  • well done 1

2 hours ago, Knifemaker84 said:

The only way to be certain is test for yourself. What other find can be an indication but its not really "talked" about. Also what others find isnt always the only thing there . Feet must hit the ground... happy hunting!!

Thanks for the reply. Thought maybe there was some double-secret Google-proof source for that kind of information... I have been slowly learning this area all winter, climbing all over the place like a mountain goat. I've learned a lot by talking to every guy I meet in the field. Some are as lost as me, some are just plain crazy, and some of the "old hands" are full of priceless tidbits of info. Translating their stories into knowledge is half the fun. I particularly enjoy the "Guy's done ok up in that wash over there" (No arm gesture included, in an area of 500 washes) lol.

Regards, Kyle