Nugget Shooter Forums
Missy

Bones coming through!!??

This is a GIANT rock that was unearthed on my property during build in 2002! What started out just a huge round boulder, has definitely worn down over time! Over the years many unusual and interesting things have shown through! I have discovered bones coming through on this rock! I'm no expert! I would love to know what these bones come from!!! 

IMG_20190110_160227809.jpg

IMG_20190110_160708675_BURST002.jpg

IMG_20190110_160703359_BURST009.jpg

I would think they are inclusions of minerals instead of bones, but what do I know.

• Like 1

That is very interesting how the rocks have weathered but leave those protrusions out.  If its on your property, I'm guessing that someone locally may be able to tell you something about it like a college or local rock club.  I'm thinking that its something unique to your local area geology.

Same here. I think they are just a harder or more resilient mineral to the weathering process. 

Posted (edited)

Not bones unless someone was engulfed in that boulder millions of years ago. 

Natural erosion process within the boulder.

Edited by Morlock
  • Like 2

I don’t think you’ve got a boulder at all. I think you’ve got a clump of very hard dirt with some rocks and dead tree roots in it.

• Like 1

4 hours ago, d_day said:

I don’t think you’ve got a boulder at all. I think you’ve got a clump of very hard dirt with some rocks and dead tree roots in it.

You're probably right. A boulder wouldn't erode that fast.

• Like 1