Nugget Shooter Forums

NWA and clasification validity.

Hi from a very much novice enthusiast!

I am a physics teacher from Croatia and have always been interested in astronomy and related subjects. I have loved the idea of one day owning an actual meteorite but I was so convinced that they must be so far outside of my price range that I actually never checked the actual e-bay listings. Well, a few days ago I did and am now a proud owner of a (tiny) slices of Muonionalusta, a NWA CV3 and CM2, and a tiny crusted Chelyabinsk. They are still en route and I can't wait. Considering I am on a limited budget and am perfectly fine collecting 300mg slices (I also love macro photography) I have decided to limit all my purchases to tiny slices. The upside is that I can possibly afford even an exotics such as Lunars and Martians, or can I?

While doing my research on the availability and the prices, I have downloaded and parsed the Meteoritical Bulletin Database and did some crude statistical analysis that made me question the validity of NWA meteorites classifications. Even though the number of NWA found per year has not significantly changed from about year 2000., the percentage of the finds that are either classified as Lunar or Martian has skyrocketed in the years 2013 and later (from ~3/year to 30/year). When the NWA meteorites are excluded, no such global trend exists. I see no reason why finding a Lunar or a Martian meteorite would suddenly become easier in a desert when compared to a common chondrite. There is even a relative spike in CM2 finds in the last two years. Does that mean that most (possibly up to 90%) of NWA high value meteorites are miss-classified or is there another explanation? As much as I would like to be able to show off a tiny rock from the Moon or Mars to my students at school, I would like to think I have bought the real thing. Any thoughts?