Nugget Shooter Forums

I want to enter into the pi territory. Im having to do some deciding on what detector to buy. Im pretty much limited to a second hand machine. I currently own the gm1000 and the gb2 . Both are vlf machines.  My question is,  what would you as a newbie go with? I know that i like minelab so i will be focusing on that brand. I was thinking gpx5000 or sdc2300 but i want to hear from the people that use them. Remember i am a newbie, however i learn fast and im a very good reader when it comes to learning. Cheers!

• Like 1

Someone has a GPX 5000 for a killer price on Robs forum, but I'd get the serial # checked first. to make sure its real. Grubstake

• Like 1

What are your "primary" intentions that you'll be hunting for ?
That should help you narrow the field.

• Like 1

2300 is a good machine  , but you are stuck with one coil.

With the GPX machines there is a wide choice of coils to match your hunting area.

ASK Bill , he would give you great advice I am sure.

• Like 1

5 hours ago, frank c said:

What are your "primary" intentions that you'll be hunting for ?
That should help you narrow the field.

Gold nugget hunting is my main plan. Maybe when i talk my daughter to the park i will hunt the sandbox or wood chips, but that will be rare (i usually play on the equipment:D)

• Like 3
  • Haha 3

It was so nice to meet and talk with you at the outing! See if Bill has any trade in or used GPX units. I know there are smoking deals on the 4500 out there now. Good Luck! 

• Like 1

Knifemaker, I have the SD2100 and the GP4500 ...Both are excellent machines and can be had for a good price ...I'd also suggest the GP3500 because I've seen it work wonders in the hands of newbies and old pros alike ... Plus, you can get a huge number of different coils very reasonably, used... Cheers, Unc

• Like 3

2 hours ago, Terry Soloman said: