Nugget Shooter Forums
BMc

BIG NUGGETS REVISITED! - NEVADA GOLD!

I like to revisit the big nugget finds and (re-post) the photos once in awhile, especially at this time of the year when cooler weather allows for extended treks to the gold fields. There was a time not that long ago, when disclosing the location of big nugget finds was frowned upon, and would likely get a flaming response from certain members of the Nugget Hunting Fraternity. I trust that's not the case here.  As a Newbie, I remember being inspired by first hand accounts of lunker type discoveries, and even rumors of a big nugget find would get my attention. I salivated over the possibility of such a find, however unlikely that might be. I read and re-read all of Jim Straight's publications, paying particular attention to discussions of secondary, (supergene) enrichment and wondering in fascination as to how a nugget could ever get that big, (under what geologic conditions) and where?, a nugget of this size might be found. The answer as exemplified by the attached photo, was Humboldt and Pershing Co. Nevada. More specifically, the Eugene Mts. S/W of Winnemuca, NV.  The 23 oz. nugget in the photograph was found by Richard (Dick) Bailey, of Imlay, NV, using a Whites Goldmaster. Hopefully, current and future gold hunters who aspire to discover big nuggets will continue to be inspired, (as much as I, and many others have been), by stories and photographs passed down from those who made these great finds and took the time to share their stories. Additional detailed posts and discussion to follow.

DICK BAILEY-  NUGGET.PNG

• Like 8
  • Thanks 1
  • well done 1
  • wow 1

I've heard about this find , I believe Dakota Slim has been around the area/story also.

• Like 1