Nugget Shooter Forums

I.D. help

hi all i am new hear and a bricklayer by trade , i havnt got a single clue about space rocks ,  but to cut a long story short , 5 years ago i was out detecting in england looking for old coins in a farmers field and came across this metal rock , 3 years ago i sent some pics of it to the NHM London to see what it was , febuary this year  they got back in touch and said send us a sample and we will test it for you , march they recieved the specimens , well on the 18 of this month i recieved an email saying they could not dismiss it as a meteorite as they did with other samples , so it might be a meteorite after all ,  i will upload a pic of the emails from NHM London and a couple of pics of the rock itself ,   if it is a meteorite , can anyone on hear help me identify what type it is ,  it weighs 260 grams , it has a density of 7.7 i think , measurements are , L 50 mm x W  40mm x  H  25mm reducing. it has orange / brown / greenish  glassy looking things when viewed in sunlight , a magnet is strongly attracted to it , and it has started to crack and flake slightly over the years , any help or advice is welcome  .  regards , paul .  IMG_1301.JPGDSC_0227.JPGDSC_0211.JPGDSC_0232.JPGDSC_0236.JPGDSC_0234.JPGIMG_1298.JPGIMG_1299.JPGIMG_1300.JPG

IMG_1303.JPG

Have you tried a streak test, take your suspect and rub it back and forth on some unfinished tile surface. An example you could use the under side of your toilet lid, of you don't have another option. If you want to spend 20 bucks sent it to New England Meteorite lab. They can test for nickel and only takes about a week. Good luck! So Paul, the point of the streak test is to see what if any color marks does your suspect leave on the tile surface. You are hoping for close to no marks left, but if you are seeing red or black you could have magnetite or hematite.

Edited by hardtimehermit
  • Like 1