Nugget Shooter Forums

White's GMT Mineralization numbers...?

Zappster

I am fairly new to metal detecting and I have purchased a White's GMT to help with prospecting.  I am curious if anyone has any info regarding the ground balance (mineral type) number.  I cannot seem to find anything that actually defines these numbers or ranges...  Can anyone help me out with a chart or anything like that?

Uncle Ron and others will chime in, but here is something to keep you busy from Steve Herschbach he is also here from time to time along with Jim Mccullough.....

http://www.detectorprospector.com/gold-prospecting-equipment/whites-electronics-gmt-metal-detector.htm

• Like 3

Any Chart would be meaningless.  It's just a number representing the Ground Signal being Balanced out.  It's only for Reference as to what the situation is.  No Tricks to use.  Just a Reference.   It's handy when in Manual GB.  Between those numbers and your Threshold you will know it's time to Re Do GB.

"" The GMT constantly displays the ground balance setting, typically in the 70-80 range. This number is telling you what type of mineralization is affecting the GMT and is very much akin to the target VDI number displayed on coin detectors except that here it is a ground reading. The GMT goes one step father and also displays the amount of the mineral being detected. This is called the "Follow Black Sand" reading because it can be used to trace shallow black sand deposits that in turn can be used to locate gold deposits. A reference number in the upper right portion of the display shows this value. The number grows as the coil is pumped up and down over concentrations of black sand. The readings are relative so the idea is to take readings at various locations across a dry wash for example, and then to focus on the highest readings as being the probable location of a black sand deposit. ""

Edited by homefire
  • Like 3