Nugget Shooter Forums

Low profile, high functionality, moderate cost

goldhair

Hi all, 

Im planning a bit of a journey, along this journey im hoping to carry a metal detector. The plan is to hitch hike from Dallas TX to Tierra del fuego ( the southern tip of south america). 

Im fairly new to gold prospecting, but i plan to devote the time to learn while on the road. 

I think you all have more experience here, so im going to leave a few requirements of the tool and see if you guys know of any metal detectors that fit these needs. 

Requirements for MD

Less than 3 lbs 

water proof  10-50 ft

Breaks down smaller than 2 ft for longest piece 

Can detect: small gold nuggets in seasonal river beds

Wet beach sand   coin, ring, and relic  8-10" depth

Manual ground balance

strong battery life 30-40 hrs 1 set

$ 600 or less 

Very Durable- Can be dropped from human height, get banged and stuffed in a backpack full of lightweight camping equipment. 

So far i have personally narrowed my search to a few MD but none seem ideal. 

Garret at gold

tiger shark by tesoro

1280 x by fisher 

like i said, im new to this game and would love to make a solid decision the first time, as i cant necessarily ship my tool back from the open roads of mexico..

Thanks in advance

Tim 

12 hours ago, goldhair said:

Hi all, 

Im planning a bit of a journey, along this journey im hoping to carry a metal detector. The plan is to hitch hike from Dallas TX to Tierra del fuego ( the southern tip of south america).

Hitch hike through Mexico, Central/South America???  Good luck....