Nugget Shooter Forums

If he had turned them in he would have gotten fair value if they were wanted as historical items or if not wanted they would have been returned to do as he pleased with them.  As a retired peace officer I believe he got what he deserved.  A thief is a thief no matter what the vocation.  Laws there are strict but ethical.

• Like 2

Yes he did.  Guess he was thinking he could get more then his share.   How much does the Crown Under value things when they decide to pay out. ????

HF

From my understanding and what I have heard from those who live there, a group of museums and historians appraise the treasure and then any museums, other historical entities and or the local community's residents as a whole who wish the keep the treasure local and on display get to offer a price/bids for any ancient treasure found and declared, if none of them are interested and or can't raise or have the money on hand to purchase the treasure, then the treasure goes back to the finder/s and land owner/s. 

• Like 1

The bottom line is the Crown Owns everything.   Even what is found on Private Lands.   The Crown will pay what they set the value of Treasure Trove Items too private land owners and finders.  Else is Crown  Property.  You need a special ticket to hunt Crown Property.  Everything else is Private lands.  And Not so much of that to be had.  Some Items don't fall under the Treasure Trove.  That too is crown property but given the Nod to do as you see fit if found on Private Property.  LOL   Yep, Messed Up Stuff.   When I was there you needed a License to use a Detector obtained from the GPO  (Post Office).  I think they may have done away with that but you still need one to hunt Crown Property. 

HF