Nugget Shooter Forums

Needle in the haystack!

Hello everyone, my name is Chris and i have been swinging my gpx 5000 for three years now. I am very hooked on dirt fishing and i try to get out daily. About two months ago i found a gold bracelet along an old historic route outside of Reno. It is a 1gram 10k bracelet without a makers mark, and says Sherry on one side and love, al on the other. This got me fired up, i mean i am still a beginner! So i went to work on griding the area and found lots of trash, but in the middle of it all i heard a faint whisper. Under a couple of inches of dirt i could see something gold! This was at the end of the day and the sun was down, but i swore it was gold until i saw that it was a fragment of a bullet the same shape i had seen many times, but usually lead. When i had a better look at home i found to my surprise it is a mix of gold and i think copper. Has anyone found or heard of a gold bullet? Maybe i am wrong, but sure looks good!

003.JPG

004.JPG

006.JPG

038.JPG

• Like 3

I agree....copper. Wait till your digging a target with sweat in your eyes and you see a yellow rock or leaf :) That gets you going :th:

Very nice job cleaning up the desert! Your collection rivals mine.

Cool find with the bracelet.  You never know what you will find. I found a 1930s gold pocket watch chain by some drywash piles at Quartzsite a few years ago.

Tom H.

• Like 3

I agree with the previous comments....

Some of those bullet fragments really make you do a double take.  Desert patina.   :desertsmile:

The rest of your finds are pretty awesome.    :thumbsupanim

Keep it up, you never know what that next signal will be !!   :head:

Luke

• Like 1

What gets my goat is the little Palo Verde leaves that turn yellow and get in the hole you are digging.  First glance you think that you have uncovered a small nuggie but alias it's not.  Especially if it disappears and reappears a  couple of times.