Nugget Shooter Forums

How to find Gold in Utah

Hello My name is Mike. I live in Orem UT.  I am new to this and this form.   I do not mean to be a pest,  just looking for advice and guidance.  I have been prospecting for just over a year.  I have used classifiers and a pan with tub of water and a gold bug 2.  and have had little luck.  just a couple of flakes with many many buckets worked through.  spent time out by delta, gold hill and have tried to do research,  as to get onto the right areas.  I know you have worked for your areas and knowledge.  I hope I am not out of place to ask for insight and guidance. 

Thank you for your time.

Mike

Hi Mike;

you asked this question on one of the other forums...I think the answer will not change.

The first rule is there has to be gold to find...are you in such an area?

The second rule is; be skilled in the method you choose...seems like you know how to use your Bug...do you know for sure if your panning skills are proficient?

The third rule is perseverance.

also

You might find a local club to  join and learn from a mentor...do not expect anyone to take you right to their spots, you usually have to earn that trust!!!

BTW; Rod gave you a mighty good lead to follow up on, especially if you live anywhere near there.

fred

Yes he did with regards to metal detecting. And I am truly grateful for his advice and Council.

On this post I was questioning with regards to painting and other methods right here.  Sorry for not explaining that better. And my lack of knowledge.

And I have bought paydirt and practiced pending that out so I would hopefully have someone of a skill once I went out in the field. However I know I'm not perfect at it but will continue to practice.