Nugget Shooter Forums

GPX 4500 settings HELP

TWHaz

Anyone have settings that work well in the Little San Domingo wash area.

I tried a spot today with tons of hot rocks and could not get the Machine to settle down.I would Ground Balance it , sometimes it would settle down, then go nuts when i start swinging (slow). Tried Tracking and Fixed. I changed timings, Lowered gain (6), adjusted stabilizer up and down, tried all three tracking speeds. Made adjustments one at a time. Tried high Mineral setting Salt, Sens Smooth, Normal etc. Checked connections etc. :idunno:

I have the Commander Mono coil that came with the 4500 package on it. Maybe the DD coil would be a better choice? 

I am new to the PI machine and would like to be able to work areas with hot rocks. I had no problems in the Rich Hill area. 

Thanks in advance.:head:

I've only owned a GP Extreme and now a 5000 so I can't say from experience about the 4500 but I do know they are one stable machine. Is it possible that your coil or your power cord is going bad on you? Just curious to see if you happened to change them out to see if they are the issue. I know them 2 items will give you major issues if they start going bad. 

Dan

I have a 5000, but one thing I noticed on my 14" coil is that when you're in the really hot areas, I have to be a little more diligent about keeping the top of my coil clean.  Not sparkling, just be sure to brush off the dirt, if you're the type that sometimes dumps your dirt on top of the coil.  The second thing (only that I've heard of) is that you can get dirt in the coil cover.  Might want to check this as well.  Maybe more telling, does this happen on any of your other mono coils.  If it's happening on both coils then I would go with Dan's suggestions.