Nugget Shooter Forums

Is this Quartz?

Hey guys, 

I'm a total amateur and could use some help on this specimen.

I found this whilst gardening and have never seen anything like it in my local area (we are sitting on chalk) and would love to know what it is. 

Sorry for the poor photos, if needed I can try take better ones. 

DSC_0173.JPGDSC_0164.JPG

Maybe a vein of marble( which is metamorphosed chalk/limestone)  or  aragonite or calcite(  crystaline forms of limestone).

See if vinegar makes it fizz.  

6 minutes ago, weaver hillbille said:

Maybe a vein of marble( which is metamorphosed chalk/limestone)  or  aragonite or calcite(  crystaline forms of limestone).

See if vinegar makes it fizz.  

Great! Thanks for the advice.

Vinegar seems to have no impact on it, the white crystals are quite large and it doesn't seem to scratch easily. 

Is the red, some sort of mineral that is in the rock? (whatever rock it is)

Maybe you have a little silica then( quartz)- most abundant element in the EArth's crust, as carbonate minerals would react.

:4chsmu1:A search for 'red minerals' will keep you busy.

What part of the world/country/ state/county/city did you find?

Just to tease you a bit, when red/purple colors and quartz are found together, chances of catching gold fever are higher( compared to just finding plain quartz).

Edited by weaver hillbille

23 minutes ago, GeoJack said:

Will it scratch glass?

yep both the red vein and the white crystal scratch glass without a problem.

1 minute ago, weaver hillbille said:

Just to tease you a bit, when red/purple colors and quartz are found together, chances of catching gold fever are high.

GEEZ better get digging up those carrots! :P

45 minutes ago, weaver hillbille said:

Maybe you have a little silica then( quartz)- most abundant element in the EArth's crust, as carbonate minerals would react.

:4chsmu1:A search for 'red minerals' will keep you busy.

What part of the world/country/ state/county/city did you find?