Nugget Shooter Forums

I had a couple questions that many of you could answer. I am relatively new to gold detecting but I have dredged, sluiced, panned etc. I have owned a cheaper metal detector and had no luck with it. I purchased a Minelab SDC 2300 and have only about 10 hours using it. I have found a lot of trash metal and a couple pieces of copper. One thing I have been doing wrong is not using the headphones, which from here on I will be using. I am in California, around Sonora, and this machine is amazing on hot rocks. I used to get hot rocks ALL the time with my Whites detector I owned. Not with the 2300, but I dig up trash metal all day. Kind of frustrating, and the wife knows how much I spent on the machine so when I get home I hear "Did you find anything?". I say no and she sighs. Is there any tips that any of you could throw my way? Im guessing that I just need to put the time in. I just get anxious when I read topics about people finding gold nuggets everywhere using the sdc 2300 and I live in the richest gold bearing county in California but haven't found anything. Maybe I should save all the metal I get and take it to the scrap yard for money. :grr01:

Ok, perhaps we should add some 'truth' to your concerns.

The first 'truth' would be that you can't find gold everywhere. The old timers didn't and we can't find gold where it isn't.

If it isn't everywhere then where should you go in one of the richest areas in the United States? You can try to find 'new' gold where others have not found it before or you can try to find the gold others missed when they were finding gold in the past. Let's leave the 'new' gold for a geologist or someone who gets lucky.

Go to a place where gold has been found before. It could be a placer or lode mine or near one of these places.