Nugget Shooter Forums

Cleaning up Black Sand with Flour Gold

Phoenix

OK, I have a question for you all.... I am very new to this whole thing, and I know that my panning techniques is leaving a great deal of room for improvement, but I cannot seem to concentrate my gold up.... I really think that I have a fair bit of flour gold (probably 200micron or so in size).....

No matter what I do, I cannot seem to get the gold to concentrate up... I have panned and panned, I have run a magnet over all my cons and pulled out everything magnetic, but I am still left with a pile of sand and (what I think is) flour gold...

My question is this -- can I use HCl to dissolve the sand and such? If I remember my chemistry right -- this will not dissolve the gold, right? Would this work?

Thanks for the help!

Black " sand" can sometimes just be manganese staining over something else :brows: really dense.... so I have read.

HCL will not dissolve gold, but toxic chlorine fumes may chase you out of the room, depending on what else is lurking in the cons- well ventilated area, safety gear :old:

Final panning techniques is what you need to learn, called the bump by some or the tap by others, it's basically using inertial and specific gravity to your advantage, it's also the same principal that shaker tables use to separate the gold from other heavy minerals, here's a few videos that will help you understand the principal, the technique/s you can copy and then develop them to be your own,

Keep in mind that in these videos and the one above posted by LipCa, the people are using a lot of gold in their pans so you can see the technique work, but rest assured that these methods will work even if you have very little gold in your blacksands, you will just have to keep repeating the technique until you get all the gold out of the blacksand.