Nugget Shooter Forums

Possible solution for more current/accurate land info

danramosd

Being a newbie, I've been doing a lot of research over the last several weeks and I came across what appears to be an issue with everyone trying to prospect new land. From what I can tell online services like the LR2000 provide somewhat of a decent starting point to discover potential land but isn't always available, not detailed enough and be very outdated when it comes to it's data.

From what I can tell (and please correct me if I'm wrong), but the BLM seems to be one of the main bottlenecks in this process. So being a software engineer I'm curious if it would be beneficial to have a supplemental service that solved some of these issues. The idea would essentially be to crowd source the data from the miners while having some moderators validate the information being uploaded. The service would work something like this:

1) When a miner goes out to stake his claim, they take pictures of the area, gets the exact GPS coordinates and boundaries of the claim.
2) After staking the claim the miner can upload their pictures, GPS coordinates, boundaries, and any additional information located on the Notice of Location form.
3) This claim is uploaded to the service's database and marked as pending (sorry if this the incorrect verbiage)
4) After all BLM paperwork is filed and the miner is granted surface rights to the land - the miner then uploads the verification paperwork from the BLM (assuming the BLM provides you with this type of paperwork). Once the claim has been verified, the database will change the claim from pending to occupied.

I believe a service like this would provide the following benefits:

1) Miners can upload their claims instantly without having to wait for any paperwork to be processed
2) Miners can give much more precise GPS coordinates and dimensions of their claims than the LR2000 can offer