Nugget Shooter Forums

Newby to gold prospecting, finding gold without a creek?

wertach

In 2010 I bought my parents old place, 10 acres. My much older brother has said for 40 years that he thought there could be gold here. He has done a little prospecting in other places and has a few ounces to show for it. He was self taught by reading books, before the internet was around. He is pretty much disabled now due to a back injury from a fall so he can't "supervise" me.So I need a little extra advise!

There is no water running through this property, but rumer has it that many years ago part of it was covered by a green pond, the comunity is called Greenpond. After looking at sattilite pictures and topicgrafical maps, there is a good possiblity that this is true. About 20 years ago he dug around a little, about 4' deep, with his tiny pull behind a car/truck backhoe.He didn't find gold here but there s a lot of quartz and other signs. There is mostly solid granite is about 6' down in some places but not everywhere, mostly on higher ground. There is a granite mine about 8 miles away. They say the rock that they are mining extends to here.

There may have been water flowing years ago, becuse the water table is pretty high, I know this because the 190' deep well is close to a higher point on the property and the water in it is only 23' from the suface. The lowest part is maybe 30' and probaby more below that. I don't have an acurate way to measure it. Plus the "fill in" over the years has probably raised the lower part since there is a lot of runoff water from the higher side.