Nugget Shooter Forums

Mini Meteorite candidate find.

I know yall have seen a million of these so here is a million and one. Found this bad boy in lil ash creak, where some others have been found. Looks very fitting to me but im a noob so I figure i'd confront the experts on the matter. These are very tiny so my pictures suck. However they have a burnt crust rusting a bit as I know they can if they have been out for quite sometime. They have tiny little thumb like prints, and draw to my magnet easily. The down side is, they do not set off my metal detector. Im assuming either their size is a factor in that or my detector is garbage. Meteorites or not with how well they draw to a magnet my detector should pick it up. I mean it picks up hematite no problem. =\

So another problem is they are so small I do not think I could file a window in them to look. Any suggestions on how to proceed, or what I may be looking at here? They look similar to others from area and canyon diablo ones. Which is why im wondering if I struck some tiny gold here. If they are not what could they be?

post-27472-0-67993700-1422901161_thumb.j

post-27472-0-75454100-1422901164_thumb.j

post-27472-0-30911500-1422901167_thumb.j

Too small to see anything from the photos, but odds are they are not meteorites. Try taking a picture with a magnifying glass against your camera lens.

Why you say most likely? What specifically gives you pause? I have a DSLR coming in the mail this week so should be able to take some better ones. Anything else I can do other than waiting on my DSLR? Thanks again mike.

I say odds are they are not meteorites because that's what the honest odds are. :)

You don't need a fancy camera, I use my 10+ year old Sony camera and a hand lens and get decent close-ups, for example, here are some micro ant hill finds from Holbrook:

HolbrookAnts2014a.jpg

Edited by Mikestang

I say odds are they are not meteorites because that's what the honest odds are. :)