Nugget Shooter Forums

nugget shooting in the Rye Patch

mineralcreekmike

post-27433-0-93626200-1418955627_thumb.jHi everyone, I'm new to the lower 48 states. I just spent 45 years in Alaska where I became pretty proeffecient in finding gold with metal detectors. I even put myself through two years of college with the gold I found.......at the old price in the 80s. I found most of it with an old Whites 4000D Series 2 detector, and a Whites 6000DI Pro. Now I have a new Whites GMT but so far have not had a chance to use it. I live here in Southern Oregon now and would really like to try my luck in Nevada or Arizona this winter but just don't know where to go. Anyone have any thoughts on what they call the "Rye Patch" near Imlay, Nevada? I know where Imlay is but any instructions on how to get to the Rye Patch from there? Anyone have any ideas on other areas that someone who feels totaly out of place in the lower 48 might try?

Mineralcreekmike

Stack rocks? What are ya....a bigfoot....lol Have stacked tons of rocks myself in Alaska as I picked apart bedrock, brushed each slab like rock, and stacked them where I'd already dug. Gotta find somewhere down here to stack em.........lol

there is information on the internet - do a Google search and you will find it.

Its a place where thousands of folks have detected - some have even found gold. I did get 6 little bits there the last time I was there a few months back.

Hey they are known as the Majuba placers... Now have been well worked... Hey Lunk are you still

out there. Hey Jerry Balcer where are you... In the beginning section 17 was one of the best to

recover nice nuggets... Memories now fading, But the area will never be worked out. It was here

that Smokey gave me the name "tailgate"

and much much more at mylandmatters.org

http://www.mylandmatters.org/Maps/Mining.html

http://www.mylandmatters.org/Maps/GeologyNV/GetMap

there is information on the internet -