Nugget Shooter Forums

Minelab GP series better than GPX?

I currently have a Whites TDI detector. I am taking a trip up to a claim in northern Nevada to do some nugget shooting. I was planning on purchasing my first PI detector to take out on this trip. The claim owner told me i should get a GP 3000 or GP 3500 because the newer Minelab GPX series dosent work up there. He says that after they scrape the surface of the ground with a bulldozer that the soil composition is changed and the GPX series wont pick up nuggets, but the older GP series will? Does this make any sense? Im new to nugget shooting and have only used a detector to check tailings piles while drywashing. I wanted to invest in a PI detector so i would have a little more depth when searching for nuggets. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

The 3500 is a great machine and easy to use...

there are plenty of people using Minelab 5000 machines in Northern Nevada and finding plenty of gold. I have to question the claim owners knowledge if he really said that.

Many respected nugget hunters have added the new SDC2300 to their stable---ask Bill Southern about it

Unless you are a full-time nugget hunter you may want to reconsider the idea that any detector is an investment...for most they are a expensive toy! I can hear the yelling now..but that is the reality for 90% of nugget hunters...

fred

I currently have a Whites TDI detector. I wanted to invest in a PI detector so i would have a little more depth when searching for nuggets. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

How many hours do you have on your TDI?

I'm not sure why I said I have a Whites TDI, I have a Whites GMT lol. I was figuring if a Gp3500 could find the gold than a Gpx5000 should find it as well. He said it was something about the electronics being different. I bet it was probably just user error