Nugget Shooter Forums

Minelab XT17000 tips/advice?

ssweat

I just scored one in like new condition, I realize its an older machine (1993 ish) but am hoping it may be a good secondary machine. I own a GB2 and have previously owned a Tesoro Lobo ST. I have yet to find a nugget as I am new to prospecting as of last January, but I have park hunted successfully for a few years prior. Found my 20th gold ring this year.

Anyhow I know it takes patience to find nuggets, which I am no stranger to as a "dig it all" hunter. This machine has the 2 frequencies 6.4khz and 32khz, my question is which would I be better off using in the Morristown area. I assume the higher 32khz but of course I would like to find big nugs which would be better at the lower freq.

Has anyone used this machine and have any tips? Would you suggest gridding an area and scanning in one frequency then rescanning it all in the other freq afterwards?

Going to hit up a GPAA claim (Golden Dream) this weekend for the outing and am hoping to get some use on the trip.

SS I had a XT17000 for years. Found a lot of gold with it. I always hunted in the 32 khz then after gridding a patch four different directions I would switch to the 6.4 khz. Never found anything deeper than the 32 would go.

I had this coil: http://www.coiltekmanufacturing.com.au/products/products-1/15-goldseeker-eureka-gold/ and found deeper gold with it but in a new location that I knew had deep gold.

Coiltek says this coil is for the Eureka Gold but I believe it's the same as the first model for the 17000. Give them an email and ask.

I have a video for the xt 17000 around here somewhere and also a coil for the 17000 that doesnt hook up to my xt 18000 if you want the video let me know and I'll send it to you..If you want the coil make me an offer..I have no use for it...I believe it a 10" dd.