Nugget Shooter Forums

I'm a novice rock collector and I have quite a few rocks that I would like to know more about. I hope someone can help. I'm new to your forum and Thanks, in advance, for any information you can share with me. :D

This rock I found near a stream in B.C., Canada, near Jasper.. just sitting there, sparkling, begging me to pick it up, and so I did. The pictures don't do it justice. The sparkles fall off every time I handle it. It weighs 22 grams. It's about 2.5" X 1" by 1/4" thick. It also has a lot of black specks in it. Anyone have any ideas to what type rock this is ? post-27330-0-08912200-1409646630_thumb.jpost-27330-0-02644300-1409646682_thumb.jpost-27330-0-54570000-1409646723_thumb.jpost-27330-0-16420000-1409646756_thumb.jpost-27330-0-07400400-1409646788_thumb.j

Leaverite as in leave r right there. Mica falln' like rain is not a keeper,never give up. Get a knife,nail or any iron object-ifn' it cracks,crumbles or goes crunch under pressure it ain't gold,which is malable-John

Hi and welcome to the forum! OK this one looks like it has Mica (sparkles) as well as Feldspar (black) in Metamorphic host rock. Fairly common and always catches the eye. My yard is full of such specimens of Leaverite as John called it as I can't resist picking them up either

Leaverite... HAHA !! Funny :4chsmu1:

Thanks John for giving me a chuckle. I knew it wasn't gold, and now I know it's Mica that makes it sparkle. I'm still going to keep it cause it pleases my eyes. Thanks for the info. It's always a successful day when a person is able to learn something new. :) May I post more rocks ? And if so, should I continue on this topic ?

Thanks again !

Thanks Bill Southern for the welcome, I'm happy to be here. :D And Thank You for your information. Seems like my rock was too easy to figure out. I thought it may have been pyrite, but how would I know....I'm just a Fool . ( pun )

Thanks again !

Edited by Rider

Rider,