Nugget Shooter Forums

Cleaning out a nugget patch… how do you do it?

I'm still kinda new to this gold prospecting game and I keep hearing stories about all these nugget patches that people have found over the years with their gold detectors.

I have a few questions… let's say you find some nuggets in a relatively small area. I'm guessing that would be considered a nugget patch… right? So once you've hit upon this patch, do you grid it out and keep pounding the area with your gold detector and keep hoping that you'll find more?

Or... do you bring in a bunch of your friends with picks, shovels, and a dry washer or two, and start digging deeper than the depth range of your detector and start taking samples?

Maybe I'm not getting it... but by reading some of the nugget patch stories posted on this forum and several others, it seems to me that there may be a lot of people who quite possibly could be leaving massive amounts of gold on the table, by not digging a few more inches (or feet) and seeing if there's more gold under what they initially found with their detector.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't gold usually abide by the laws of gravity? I mean if you find a few dinks on the surface, wouldn't it make sense that there could possibly be even more (and heavier) nuggets buried below those dinks that are out of the depth range of your detector? Judging by many of the stories I've read, seems the consensus is that gold nuggets (once you've found them) kinda like to hang out together. Would that be a true statement?

Just wondering? :89:

Azblackbird very good topic and Im sure its been discussed here in the past but I think its worth discussing again. things have changed, new detectors etc. this is going to be a long but informative topic. just to start there are a lot of variables to be considered. AzNuggetBob