Nugget Shooter Forums

Are they just a little deeper?

Been doing the old parks around town and even the State Fair Grounds but I'm just not finding the older coins... My theory is the older coins have had time to sink in a little deeper and maybe my Lil' Silver uMax just isn't quite reaching them.... course there is the age old idea that a "new machine" could be the answer to all the things I'm not finding....

I am finding pennies that are no longer legible and never will be, I'm thinking they have been there a long time, and I've found numerous late 60's dimes and quarters, so I believe I'm in the right areas...

I've heard mention of "cherry picking" which I assume is near max Discrimination as my machine still hits Quarters and dimes at this setting and misses most junk but still hits many pennies as well. I wouldn't think there would be any way to cherry pick silver coins over clad, but I am still learning.

Now I have been using my Silver for months with hundreds and hundreds of target holes under my belt and from all I've read I think I have it set up to make the most of it's abilities..

I run the Disc just above foil so I am less likely to miss some small gold items (and I dig a ton of tabs)

The Sensitivity at or above 10, though I think it might reduce battery life so I don't usually run it at max boost, and my swing speed is adjustable depending on amount of trash, slowing down in trashy areas.

I am getting to where I can call my targets pretty well.

I am using the stock coil and have a 12x10" Widescan which I don't use because I have to reduce Sensitivity quite a bit and the darn thing is heavy....

So my question is... could I expect any significant increase in depth by upgrading to a Vaquero or possibly a Tejon I am happy with Tesoro and feel no need for TID or any other bells and whistles , just maybe a couple inches more depth