Nugget Shooter Forums

Opinions needed on 2 possible Iron Meteorites.

I'm fairly new at meteorite collecting (3 two day trips to Franconia over the last 2 years with success on each day with irons, OC, and ablation/micro meteorite spheres).

Recently I took my God Bug 2 out to an area about a half hour from Lavic, CA in the Mojave Desert to look for cold finds. I found the 2 possible irons (see 2 photos for each one).

They tested high in nickel and are extremely magnetic, but I could not get any Widmanstatten lines from etching them. I know that because these are small, the lines may not be apparent, and that rare iron types won't show the lines. Note: one photo shows the window put into the piece before etching took place.

Can anyone give me their opinions from the photos or suggestions for further tests?

post-27159-0-71896300-1395177577_thumb.j

post-27159-0-98637600-1395177588_thumb.j

post-27159-0-36074100-1395177610_thumb.j

post-27159-0-52941200-1395177629_thumb.j

Please provide the assay lab results showing nickel percentage. If you used a home test kit, those are not accurate at all to the level necessary for meteorite identification. I don't see anything that makes me think they're meteorites, more than likely just some made-made iron chunks.

Mike....this piece (other than the shape) is identical to the "iron" that I have that you looked at. Same outside characteristics, same coloration, and that same shiny metal on the inside that doesn't seem to rust. After all of the tests that I have done that ended up NOT showing a positive ID for meteorite on mine, I am going to say no as well. BUT I could be wrong.

Thanks Mikestang and Chris Coffee.