Nugget Shooter Forums

My latest race 2014 King of the Hammers

heybeerman

I have been hiding in the garage for the last 3 months building a UTV to compete in the King of the Hammers race.

I started with a brand new Polaris RZR 1000. It had one trip to the sand dunes on it. I had to wait till the end of October to start my build because the sanctioning body did not release the vehicle requirements till then.

The race is a mix of high speed desert with huge whoops and rock crawling on some of the toughest trails in the West.

post-713-0-38769500-1392215542_thumb.jpg

post-713-0-13049800-1392215806_thumb.jpg

Video please when done please as adreneline junkie and you are one wild and crazy guy-thanx-John PS-must edit as watched that RX1000 video for the ,well way tooo many times. Change wild/crazy to speed /danger freak,sooo cool.

Edited by Hoser John

The race was last week.

So I started by Boat siding the frame. Raising the sides almost 6" And raised the front mounting point for the rear trailing arms from 3/4" below the frame to 5" above the frame. first pic is stock, 2nd pic is with the boat sides.

post-713-0-16962900-1392223267_thumb.jpg

post-713-0-20403800-1392223410_thumb.jpg

I bought a sheet of UMHW and bent it up in a press break. Where I needed to wrap it around bars I left it long, drilled holes in it. Then heated it with a weed burner and pulled it with ratchet straps. (2nd pic)

post-713-0-95901200-1392226804_thumb.jpg

post-713-0-02689000-1392227156_thumb.jpg

• Like 1

I had to make my own rear trailing arms, to correct the geometry and not over travel the CV's. There was a little trial and error here. Luckily we have a 10' plasma table at work. These ended up being 3 pounds lighter than stock. But a lot stronger, all cromoly.

post-713-0-41497000-1392227312_thumb.jpg

• Like 1

There is a great video that UTVunderground.com did. But I can get the link to post up.