Nugget Shooter Forums

Rock or mineral?

Please bear with me, I am new at this and still learning protocol (the hard way I might add). This was in a box of other rocks at a sale in Oregon. At first I thought that it was a cone or fruit of some sort. It is 4" x 2 1/2" x 2 1/2". Color is reddish brown. Luster is metallic to dull. Streak is brown. In my un-experienced mind the Look is reniform, the Hardness is 2 1/2 or less (scratched with a penny on the "flat" side). It is non-magnetic and non- fluorescent. The yellowish stuff is a thin coating of something. Any help would be appreciated?

post-27086-0-22810200-1391538670_thumb.j

post-27086-0-27910500-1391538702_thumb.j

post-27086-0-57258500-1391538742_thumb.j

post-27086-0-50453000-1391538784_thumb.j

post-27086-0-03172300-1391538827_thumb.j

post-27086-0-05169500-1391538867_thumb.j

It is an odd piece. I am having a heck of a time identifying it. My wife is telling me that I am spending too much time trying to identify it and that I should be doing other things like the taxes. A geologist looked at it in person and admitted that he had no idea what it was but that it was not organic. Is there any place that I could send it for identification that would not cost me an arm and a leg? By the way I researched Detroit agates and it is not that. Thanks for any help.

That sure is a strange one. Is the yellow something someone could have coated it with?? Could it be some type of fossil, piece of a nautiloid? Some pics make it look something like a mastodon tooth but colors look like jasper, but too soft. Perhaps check a couple other spots for hardness. Found in a box, could have come from anywhere. What other rocks in the box? Lot of guestions, just crazy ideas, Bob