Nugget Shooter Forums

I have a Beck drywasher

Hi folks. I’m new to the site and I’m not a prospector. I asked the admin for permission to post so I could discuss my drywasher. I’m hoping someone can give me an idea of what it’s worth.

My grandfather was Harold Beck. When he died in the 1980s, my uncle Virgil took over the drywasher business and continued to build them using the same methods and materials my grandfather used. This is a genuine Beck drywasher and has the label stapled to the side of the hopper. (Note to the site admin: I was incorrect when I wrote you – this is the genuine article.)

My uncle built this one shortly before he died. My father bought it from my aunt, who didn’t want it. My father wanted it as a keepsake for his brother because he always admired his carpentry and woodworking skills.

I’ve done some Googling and eBay searches for Beck drywashers and although people discuss them, I haven’t been able to find one for sale so I can get an idea of what this is worth.

This one is unusual in that it’s been in the family for so many years and it’s the last Beck drywasher ever made. (To the best of my knowledge, the Beck drywasher business ended when my uncle died.)

This one is completely unused. My father never used it for any reason other than to show it off. It's been in his garage for years and it's pristine.

I’m not sure if this is the most appropriate forum to post this in, but I thought it’s a bit early to post this in the classifieds forum. In any event, please excuse me if I’m doing this wrong, and I hope someone will correct me.

In addition to getting an idea of the drywasher’s value, I’d like to hear anyone’s experiences with the Beck drywasher. I grew up watching my grandfather building them. I spent time as a kid in his workshop whenever I visited Randsburg, and it was such a commonplace, I never thought it was a “thing” so I’m very happy to know my grandfather’s machine has such renown.