Nugget Shooter Forums
Calgeologist

Placer County CA Detecting

Hello,

My name is J.D. and I am brand new to metal detecting. Last summer I got myself a GMT and was able to swing it a couple of times, but with no luck (found lots of trash though).

I stumbled across this site about a month ago and have been trying to read as much as I can.

Being new to detecting I don't really know much about what I am doing and it makes locating a potential area difficult. Not sure what to look for etc.

I have an extensive understanding of the motherlode geology, but nothing on how to translate that into finding good ground.

I would love to hear any kind of advice and tips. If anybody else is in the Colfax/Dutch Flat area and would like to meet up that would be incredible too.

Thanks for your responses and I look forward to showing my finds here on this great forum.

Wellcome JD I'm sure someone in that area will come forward for you from this post.
Good Luck an Hapy Huntn

My advice -- patience. Get into the field a lot. Pay attention to what you are hearing in order to learn how to listen (there's a difference). Experiment with some actual gold targets of various sizes, including very, very small ones. Most beginning nugget shooters at first listen mostly to the loud ones and tend to ignore the whispers. Dig everything. Stay positive. Share your adventures with the rest of us. Good luck.

• Like 1

The Mother Lode Goldhounds is a good club and are based in Auburn, CA This would be a good place to start since you are in Placer County. They have outings about 6 times a year and are a good group of people.

• Like 1