Nugget Shooter Forums

Ammo Reloading

Been thinking about getting back into reloading ... was in it lot a years ago. Had a Dillon Progressive and looking at another ... also looking at the Lee, RCBS and Lyman. Anyone have a strong preference for one over the other? ... and why? Any comments greatly appreciated.

Happy Thanksgiving to All

Mike F

I have the Lee stage press and my brother has a Dillon progressive. The Dillon is awesome!

I took a picture of an article from June in Outdoor Life that hopefully you can see enough to read. Unfortunately, prices for all of the reloading components have even increased since then. Good luck!

Sorry it's crooked - I don't know how to change it.

Got it.....I hope

shotshells-1.jpg

post-22292-0-55222800-1385481611_thumb.j

Edited by garimpo
standing the shell upright...maybe

I have been reloading since I was 10 years old but never needed a progressive press. I have always heard about the Dillon being the best but can't speak from experience.

It takes a couple evenings to load the 500 rds needed for a two day dog hunt. Other than this one extreme case my old RCBS "O" press works great. As long as a system allows for neck sizing rather than full length sizing and exact tolerances in seating depth you will do fine.

With the proper powder for the case the powder charge does not have to be that exact. Volumetric proportions are just fine. Primer seating pressure is important for accuracy so I would take a look at how any progressive handles that operation.