Nugget Shooter Forums

New to Prospecting and a few questions

tx.treasurehntr

Hello everyone. I am new to prospecting, me and my wife are planning our first gem hunting/gold prospecting vacation to NC this spring. Since we will be in and around the National Forest and will only be allowed to sluice or pan I wanted to ask a few questions.

We are complete newbies to this hobby and the only prospecting equipment I have is the pan that I recieved with my GPAA membership.

What makes one sluice better than the other? I am interested in the Jobe 50" sluice that folds up. I was looking on ebay and found other folding sluices for half the price. I did not see any particular names on the sluices on ebay. Is there really that much difference?

Also if anyone knows. I was thinking of taking one of the hand pumps to pull material out of any cracks and crevices that look promising. Because these are mechanical I am not sure if they would be allowed to use in the National Forrest.

What type of hand tools would you recomend to carry with me?

If anyone has any additional information that they think would be useful, please add.

We are planning on going to Hiddenite for 3 or 4 days then check out the Franklin area for a few days. If anyone has any info about these areas it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Johnny

Johnny,

Welcome t the forum,

If you're going to the Uwharrie National forest, the hand tube sucker aren't not allowed to be use with-in the National forest, only sluices, pans and shovel can be used in the Uwharrie National Forest, no digging outside the streambed/wetted areas, or undermining plants/rootballs which includes any "island/s" that may have vegetation on it, so if a gravel bar has a plant growing on it you can't dig into the gravel bar, also you must fill in all hole that you dig, if you find a hole while in a stream looking for gold I would suggest filling it in so you don't get the blame if a Forest Ranger finds it with you in the area.