Nugget Shooter Forums

GM3 Threshold Gaps

I am totally new to all of this, and have been playin in the backyard (stone) with my newly aquired Goldmaster 3. Have been through the manual and tried all the settings and can't seem to get a steady threshold without gaps. I'm swingin low and slow and tryin not to get "ahead of the threshold", but still get 1-3 second gaps with no sound. Just straightened out the coil cord and the strain reliefs seem ok. Brand new headphones. Ground balance seems to be adjusted ok and slightly positive. What am I doin wrong? :grr01:

Hey I appreciate your replies and help on my first posting! I just got in from practicing in the backyard and with careful ground balancing, seem to have gotten a smoother threshold. I think I need more time on this manual machine! Thanks.

Hi Au Seeker,

Yes, I did download the manual for the GM3, thanks. I've been playin around setting up the Gain, Ground Balance, and messin with the VSAT timing. The Iron ID seems pretty cool. This is my first experience with a detector, and GOLD in general, so I'm tryin to learn all I can.

Dave,

I just got a gold master vsat a few months ago and like you had never used a detector before. I think they are pretty similar machines. Sometimes I have trouble with my threshold as well. I rarely get a really steady hum, it usually has dips and cuts out occasionally for a quick second. I'm sure that an experienced detector could balance mine and tweak it to sound smoother but I've noticed that even when the threshold sounds a little choppy like that, the detector will still scream over a target and the erratic threshold is more annoying than anything. I just go over ground really slow and check the same spot a couple times and even if the threshold is acting screwy I can still hear signals just fine.