Nugget Shooter Forums

Black Canyon City AZ area

DavidB

Soap Creek

Slate Creek

Black Canyon City

Rock Springs

Fifty years ago, Ron Wielgus (author of Arizona's Golden Secret, Arizona's Little-Known

Gold Placers, etc.) found his first gold nugget in Soap Creek. He wrote about it in his "Golden

Secret" book and suggested checking out that area. I've been told that the Black

Canyon City area has been prospected heavily, particularly with VLF detectors in the '90's.

I'm new to this, have a Fisher Gold Bug Pro, good headphones and have put in a fair amount

of time learning and detecting this area.

My question is: has anyone had any experience prospecting in the Black Canyon City region?

If so, would you care to share any tips?

My understanding is to stay out of the dry washes, rather check the hillsides, not steep areas,

but more gentle slopes where water would have flowed.

Thank you.

Due to my youth and inexperience , I have never heard of these places., are they north of Flagstaff? Anyway, the techniques sound textbook for a big placer area, I would definitely give your ideas a go.

Due to my youth and inexperience , I have never heard of these places., are they north of Flagstaff?

No Adam, Black canyon ain't north of Flagstaff. Go on down to Phoenix, then head N. on I-17, now I'm figurin 'bout 20-25 miles N. of Phoenix

an you'll be smackdab in the middle of Black Canyon, 17 runs right through the middle of it.

Now I'm chimin in on this only because BCC is in the top 3 places I had decided might be a good place to settle in after

I've packed up and walked away from Mi. forever,

Check the areas you are speaking of for active claims first as most of the areas you mentioned are under claim by private individuals or local clubs. Yes good gold in the area and yes it has been hit hard, but still gold.

Good hunting!

OK, I have a custom BLM map of the area, showing some of the land status.