Nugget Shooter Forums

waders

jbeganny

You will be able to tell from my question that I am brand new at this so please bear with me. I live in Maine and am planning on working the Swift River in a few weeks. I have some basic equipment including a sluice and I should have a dredge in a few weeks. Last week I bought waders that are 3.5 mm thick but they do not have boots. They have the footies or whatever you call them. I know the water in the Swift will not be above 40 degrees so I figured I needed the thick waders. My question right now is should I be wearing boots with these waders or are they made to just walk in the river with these booties? If I do need to buy some boots, what type of boots do I get?

Yes, buy boots it you want the waders to last. And if you want to stay on your feet. They are slippery little suckers without boots on. I use the canvas boots made for fly fishing. They are cheap, don't get heavy when they are wet and have a sole like a brillo pad that will grip on mossy rocks.

Or you can get a $20 pair of slip on sand shoes - which is what I wear over the neoprene booties on my Reddington Crosswater waders. Works well in the ocean surf, so should work well in the river as well. http://www.swimoutlet.com/product_p/3804.htm

jbe those waders are made with the booties or boots.....to late now but you should have shopped around and

got the boots.....both suggestions above are good....since your probably going to be on slick rocks I would

go with the fly fishing boots.....

Spent all most of my life in Okla. and I love to "tube fish"....that's where you sit in a tire tube with a seat built

inside the innertube and the biggest problem your going to have is the cold.....believe me no matter what

the thickness of the rubber is it gets to be the same temp as the water in about five minutes and then in 10

minutes you won't even be able to feel your feet and legs....they will be numb....SO....