Nugget Shooter Forums

Desert Dry Out

whynotme

Not really answering your question....

I’m still in my first year and got my drywasher in June of last year. Even after the big rains of the monsoon last year, it was only a few days before I was back to dry washing. Until November, I never had trouble using it. In December, I tried laying the dirt on a mat for several hours, but even the third time I ran through the dry washer, it was still wet.

This slightly humid weather below 60 really slows the ground up compared to the over 100 degree bone dry heat of the summer.

I’m perfecting my recirculating system.

Too many variables.

How long it rains.

How hard it rains.

Humidity.

Ambiant temp.

Exposure to direct sunlite or not.

Elevation.

North or South facing.

Drainage, ground composition.

Sloping ground or flat.

So, I'd say that if the area you want to work is dusty then the time is right.

Unless you encounter moisture a few inches deep.

Just never can tell 'til ya try.

If it's too wet, come back in a week.

One thing that surprises me about the dirt I’m digging in the Arizona Desert by Wickenburg, is how much it looks like potting soil especially when wet. I expected dry sand and dunes when I was coming here, but that’s not what I got. Except for the very top layer of sand on the washes, the dirt seems to be pretty fertile.

You are in my area and it is mighty wet and looks like we will see quite a bit of rain this winter with more coming this weekend, my call is perhaps mid may after the heat kicks in sadly. Was a nice dry fall and I was drywashing through turkey day this year.