Nugget Shooter Forums

recalculate highbank AZ dirt help!

rootm02

Im new to this and have a few questions on what to run in my highbank. I am building my own out of aluminum. Its going to be 18 inches wide. Q1 how long should it be? Looking at 36 inches or 48 inches. As far as water. Q2 how big or small of a pump do I run? Looking into 1 2000gph or 2 800gph. In the sluice, Id like to run a v mat then minors moss under expanded metal and angle iron. Q3 what gauge of expanded should I use. Q4 how big of angle iron do I use? Q5 how far should I space those? I would be mostly running Arizona dirt from flash flood washes. Sometimes some mountain dirt. Q6 where is a good place to start? Is there anyone here in AZ close to Tucson Casa Grande area that would like to meet up and talk prospecting?

Also what angle do I run it at. Ive done a lot of reading and seen people say for every foot the sluice is drop the bottom that many inches. So if I run it at 3ft the drop the bottom end 3in. Im curious on if that's the rule of thumb or maybe just a starting point.

Q1: I'd go with 48" and have a longer section of expanded over moss.

Q4: It depends on the size of material you are running and the size of Gold you are recovering.

Q5: The water flow running over the first riffle should keep material from building up in front of riffle # 2, etc., etc.

4" to 6" apart

Yes, start at 1" to 1' and adjust from there. I always look for a cross hatch patern on top of the water flow.

JMHO, there are others here with a whole lot more experiance than I. :kap:

My opinion is to spend a couple of extra bucks and get the bigger pump. I put a valve on mine to meter the flow. I don't like to have any mechanical devices running at full capacity (works them to hard and they wear out quicker). Also I found it useful to add a T to the plumbing and add a small valve to run water into a pan or to use as rinse. Good luck

If I fall down and hit my head and come up with anymore BS I'll let you know.